Sports News

Elman named 3A Coach of Year | News, Sports, Jobs

Written by [email protected]

—Photo by Rick Thompson

Humboldt head coach Derrick Elman talks to quarterback Will Orness this past season.

Derrick Elman led the Humboldt football team to a second consecutive appearance in the Class 3A state football semifinals this past fall.

For his efforts on the sidelines, Elman was named the a 3A regional coach of the year by the Iowa Football Coaches Association.

North Polk’s Tim Tebrink, a district rival of Elman and the Wildcats, was the other winner in 3A.

Humboldt has gone 21-3 over the past two seasons with 26 wins total over the last three years.

In eight-player, Newell-Fonda’s Brian Wilken was honored along with Shane Rowlands from Southeast Warren. Wilken and the Mustangs also reached the UNI-Dome and the state final four.

Mark Sanger of West Hancock and Duane Foster from Wapsie Valley were the A sections, Dan Anderson from MFL MarMac and Jared Jensen of Sigourney-Keota were named in 1A, Curtis Eben of Central Lyon/George-Little Rock and Cody Hackett out of West Marshall were the 2A selections.

From 4A, Jim Tighe of Spencer, the son of legendary former St. Edmond and Webster City head coach Dick Tighe, was selected along with Newton’s Andy Swedenhjelm. The 5A coaches named were Rusty VanWetzinga of Pleasant Valley and Eric Addy from Des Moines North.

The IFCA also named coaches of the year in each class with Chad Edeker of WACO (eight-player), Mike Parkinson from Lynnville-Sully (A), Nate Mechaelsen of Underwood (1A), Curt Ritchie from Williamsburg (2A), Lance Pedersen of Mount Vernon (3A), Mark Hoekstra of Carlisle (4A) and Brian Woodley from Johnston (5A) honored.

Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox

Source link

About the author

Leave a Comment